if I were to love you

if I were to love you
there would be a sudden spring
running across my street
with her hair long on the wind
singing
 
if I were to love you
you would look at me
as if you have never known me before
a promised land beyond an island of fear
a harmony in sound and rhythm
the two of us in some heaven
where words mean exactly the same
when they are spoken
and when they are heard
regardless of the language we speak
 
if I were to love you
you would take my hand
into your hand
walking us upon sweet orange floors
where you would close all the doors
with a silver ring strong
letting us be
in the mystery
About elizadavies

Being a human is an awesome thing. Being able to name the awesomness of it all - sends my mind veering dangerously and beautifully ... Naming the Invisible is my life long challenge ... words which live, describe life and eventually impart life ...
This entry was posted in poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to if I were to love you

  1. Marzena says:

    I am completely indulged by this poem. You know that. By now I have a collection of those poems, which leave a lasting imprint in my heart

  2. Marzena says:

    Do not be so humble. You gave me the most beautiful messages, that started with ‘Her Hair’. You are in a journey with me, pointing out the silky chambers on the edge if the ocean. And some more… I am merely recognizing the riches of what is intangible here, it is not I who is generous here.

Leave a Reply

